• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

What is the difference

Help Support Ranchers.net:

I have no experience with corn gluten, but I believe it's extracted when corn is processed for industrial use, corn sweeteners etc. Dried distillers grain is a refined by-product of ethanol production. It is a cheap enough source of 30 ish percent protein to ship at least 300 miles. It really puts a shine on grass calves over the winter, and fits in any mixed ration. If you can feed it right, it will winter cows. I prefer alfalfa because I think you get more than protein, and I have seen that 5 pounds help fill bellies. I don't know the exact CP, I just see the results.

If you haul the ddg too far in a regular hopper bottom grain trailer it can kind of set up and be a little difficult unloading, and don't ever store it where you can't get at it with a loader.

I have a hard time getting straight DDG to flow thru my cake feeder very well. We 5 gallon bucket feed about 60 buckets of ddg on a daily basis here currently and it's stored in a commodity shed.

I feed both. Depending on price.
Gluten has to be several dollars cheaper to be worth feeding it over DDG.
Both are great products though and I'm feeding calves. Mixing corn with either.
Either are fine for feeding cattle too. Gluten by itself is plenty good for cows on hay.
The last load I got was pellets. They are real nice but don't often get them. I buY seconds and damaged so I get what I get.
Paid 100/ton delivered for the last one. That's as cheap as I've ever paid.
Highest was 163/ton for undamaged first grade DDG.